Spring Moneta in Art Gallery Print!

I actually started this project last fall. I finished everything except hemming when the weather turned cold….. and then lost any and all interest in finishing it, but with the weather warming back up**… why not?!

image1

This is my third crack at the Moneta…. and I feel I may have finally worked the kinks out! 😀

image1(2)

I’ve made a couple more tweaks and adjustments.  The main one, which I feel has helped the fit for me, is I graded the shoulders down to a size M.   This is increasingly becoming a fairly necessary adjustment for me.  I could learn to do a proper narrow shoulder adjustment…. but, eh….. this is working so far 😉

image1(6) (1)

The other adjustment was finishing the sleeves and neck with a band, a la my beloved Grail t-shirt, as opposed to just turning it under.  I used zigzag stitching throughout- I have given up trying to make friends with the Twin Needle…. it is the devil and I will have no part of it!

image1(5)

The fabric is an Art Gallery print (I’m pretty sure?) from my local fabric store… every time I go in there it takes all my strength to not walk out with one of each of their knit fabrics!!

Keen eyed observers will notice there is a very subtle direction to the print (one of the flowers has a stem!)…. even keener eyed observes will note that despite being aware of the directionality of the print I still managed to cut one of the skirt panels upside down!  *face palm*  Eh….at least it’s not as bad as upside down deer heads!

image1(4)

I was stepping a bit outside my comfort zone with this one….not only is it rocking a fairly busy pattern, but it has (just a bit) of neon!!  My firm opinion of neon is it wasn’t a good look in the 80’s/early 90’s and 25-35 years has not improved it!!  ….this actually extends to ALL fashion from that time period- stop trying to bring it back!  *Shakes fist at young teens, before yelling at them to get off my lawn*

image1(7)

But it must look good on me, because I was getting all the compliments when I wore it out the first time!  Which is good, because I’m pretty sure I have enough leftover to make a t-shirt 😀

 

** These were all LIES- the temperature has dropped and yesterday it actually snowed 😥

4 thoughts on “Spring Moneta in Art Gallery Print!

  1. I’m laughing at your last line! I love the print. Very striking and lovely on you. I would not have noticed the fabric is directional and most likely would have cut the whole damn thing upside down.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Me Made May 2018- Week One & Two! | liz-o-matic

  3. Pingback: Me Made May 2018- Week Three | liz-o-matic

Leave a comment